Waterstones

The UK's leading bookseller. Follow us for all things books. Also on Twitter @waterstones & Facebook.com/waterstones.

https://goo.gl/RzYb5H

976 posts 91,141 followers 326 following

Swipe to see more ↔️📸 If you're after deliciously dark writing with plenty of atmosphere, turn to @lauracarlinwriter’s novel The Wicked Cometh, set within the murky alleyways of Victorian London. Perfect for fans of Michel Faber and Sarah Waters. If you're after deliciously dark writing with plenty of atmosphere, turn to Laura Carlin's novel The Wicked Cometh, set within the murky alleyways of Victorian London. Perfect for fans of Michel Faber and Sarah Waters. Find out more via the link in our bio.

44💬

Swipe to see more ↔️📸 A beautiful edition for a searing debut. Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy novel, Children of Blood and Bone. Link to our exclusive edition in our bio.

27💬

Swipe to see more ↔️📸 A unique love story for Valentine’s Day: The Art and Making of Guillermo del Toro’s The Shape of Water (released in UK cinemas today) chronicles the filmmaking journey, from development to design to filming. Featuring interviews and commentary from actors and the creative team, the book showcases the amazing concept artwork created for the film. The perfect way to explore a beautiful romance from a master filmmaker.

11💬

Loading...

The Dry was the novel we admired so much it was our Thriller of the Month twice. With Force of Nature, @janeharperauthor has returned with another instantly gripping story of secrets and murder. Find out more via the link in our bio.

18💬

Sarah Perry, the author of The Essex Serpent, our 2016 Book of the Year, returns this October with Melmoth, a profound, ambitiously realised work of fiction which asks fundamental questions about guilt, forgiveness and moral reckoning. The beautiful cover is designed by artist Pete Dyer. Pre-order via the link in our bio.

17💬

📸↔️ Swipe to see more. Presenting the Penguin Women Writers range, celebrating the centenary of some women getting the vote in Britain. Curated by acclaimed writers Penelope Lively and Kamila Shamsie, this project features four forgotten classics by female authors: Mary McCarthy’s Birds of America, Meatless Days by Sara Suleri, Lifting the Veil by Ismat Chughtai and The Lark by E. Nesbit. All four of the books have beautiful new cover illustrations by @martharich63.

16💬

Loading...

Beautifully put together by Louise Kay Stewart and artist @evelloydknight, Rebel Voices celebrates the women who stood up, spoke up, and refused to behave, rebelling against convention to give women everywhere a voice. ↔️📸 Swipe to see more photos and read more about the book via the link in our bio.

34💬

It may be still cold outside, but we've got four rich and absorbing new Books of the Month to brighten the final weeks of winter. Find out more via the link in our bio.

10💬

For the budding scientist or athlete in your life the 50 fearless women featured in each of these books, written and illustrated by Rachel Ignotofsky, show how they played their part in changing the world. From well-known names like Marie Curie and Serena Williams to lesser-known figures like Keiko Fukuda and Katherine Johnson - these lavishly illustrated books contain inspiration for us all.

67💬

Loading...

Today sees the publication of Imogen Hermes Gowar's The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock, one of the most anticipated debuts of 2018, already attracting comparisons to recent favourites The Essex Serpent and The Miniaturist. Find out more via the link in our bio.

48💬

Ursula K. Le Guin, who passed away yesterday.

15💬

Have you seen @vintagebooks' new editions of 1984 and Brave New World? They've been designed by @suzanneldean and illustrated by Noma Bar to fit perfectly with last year's beautiful hardback of The Handmaid's Tale. Absolute bookshelf essentials.

82💬

Loading...

The first UK publication of Craig Thompson's modern classic, described by the Guardian as 'one of the best graphic novels of all time'. Set against the snowbound isolation of rural Wisconsin, Thompson’s story charts the progress of Craig, a boy born into a devoutly Christian family, as he questions his most cherished of beliefs and open doors to a life far beyond the confines of his family’s small-town expectation. Swipe to see more of the book's amazing artwork ↔️📸

15💬

With skill and sensitivity, author Heather Morris has novelised one of the most life-affirming, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz. Read an exclusive piece by the author about the process of writing and researching the book via the link in our bio.

54💬

Did you know Mary Shelley wrote Frankenstein when she was still just a teenager? In this essential new book, published to mark the 200th anniversary of the publication of Shelley's classic, Fiona Sampson uncovers a complex, fascinating woman, determined to fulfil her own passionate commitment to writing. Find out more via the link in our bio.

19💬

Loading...

Today sees the arrival of Three Things About Elsie, the wonderful new novel from @drjocannon, author of one of our big favourites from recent years, The Trouble With Goats and Sheep. Find out more via the link in our bio.

22💬

Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls 2 is happening (indeed, arriving 28 February). Inspiring girls around the world to dream bigger, aim higher and fight harder, this is an entirely new collection of one hundred bedtime stories that celebrate extraordinary women from Nefertiti to Beyoncé, Rosalind Franklin to J.K. Rowling. Pre-order via the link in our bio.

88💬

Reading is not a competition. And those new year resolutions tend to get broken. But if you're looking for something to provide some reading inspiration in 2018 then we have a Book Bingo card for you. We want to help you finally read the best books you've never read, so tick off a few of these this year and we think you'll find yourself enriched. Find the books themselves through the link in our bio.

92💬

Loading...

We popped to our Leadenhall Market shop in the City of London today to meet with @mcflyharry for a race (more of that in the future). Whilst there we looked up at the roof of the market itself and this is what we saw. Beautiful. It pays to look up every now and then. Have a good day everyone.

5💬

The best way to start 2018? Working your way through our new Books of the Month. Explore the selection via the link in our bio.

9💬

Happy New Year to readers everywhere. What books are you looking forward to in 2018?

110💬

Repeat after us: You can never have too many books.
Explore the Waterstones Book Sale via the link in our bio.

11💬

Whether it's socks or books you unwrap today, Merry Christmas from all the booksellers at Waterstones.

49💬

Christmas last posting dates may have passed for online orders, but this is by no means a disaster. You can still pop into shops, talk to booksellers and find scores of brilliant books.

43💬

Beautiful gifting inspiration: E.T.A Hoffmann's classic Christmas fairy tale, immortalised by Tchaikovsky's ballet, brought to life by the gorgeous contemporary artwork of Finnish illustrator, @sannaannukka.

3💬

PLEASE NOTE: Photos may contain spoilers.
Feel the Force with The Art of Star Wars: The Last Jedi, a visual feast of a book that explores the vision of the filmmakers and illuminates their creative process in stunning detail. Swipe to see more. ↔️📸

14💬

Swipe to see more ↔️📸 Written with generous helpings of warmth and humour, Katherine Rundell's beautiful new book One Christmas Wish, illustrated by @emsutton1983, is the perfect journey of wonder and adventure for young readers this festive season.

6💬

Attention cat enthusiasts (and those who know one): this utterly charming Japanese bestseller is the perfect book for all fans of feline-focused fiction.

41💬

Something to look forward to for fans of @carriehopefletcher: her spellbinding new story of passion, drama, love and revenge, When the Curtain Falls, is arriving July 2018. Pre-order now via the link in our bio.

5💬

Swipe to see more. ↔️📸 Lovingly researched and beautifully produced, this captivating book explores literature's greatest fictional worlds and the authors who created them. Comprised of nearly 100 sections, the book delves into the plot of seminal works and lesser-known curiosities. The perfect gift for a true fiction enthusiast.

54💬